Fruit Curd 1 – Lemon

Time passes really quickly and it’s almost a month since H and I got together (: have been thinking about what would be a great one month’s present for him and thought that making him two types of fruit curd would be a brilliant idea. Wanted to have lovely jars for the curds but didn’t have time to look for them – ended up settling for nice little round containers that I was sure would definitely seal well. Just gotta settle for second best :\

So today I decided it would be great to trial run the lemon curd – leaving it up to fate the day before obviously doesn’t work out because I’m not a gifted cook and baker like H is. I tried my best with the lemon curd today and it actually tastes pretty intense – hopefully he will like it! Think the lemons I got today were a little more sour than usual today and again, uncannily, the curd reminds me of pineapple ;)

Surprisingly, lemon curd is really easy to make and Gordon Ramsay was obviously a godsend and saviour once again –

Ingredients

  • 200g sugar *
  • 3 eggs
  • 2 lemons (for lemon juice and lemon zest)
  • 85g unsalted butter *

For the two items *
I used more sugar as the lemon juice was slightly too sour. I added about 10g more of butter as well but 85g is the original stated amount on the recipe!

Preparation

  1. Grate the lemon for lemon zest and squeeze for juice.
  2. Put all the ingredients in the order of ingredients (sugar, then eggs, lemon zest, lemon juice, and unsalted butter) and cook over low heat.
  3. Keep whisking the mixture until the mixture thickens. This should take around 15 minutes but only stop when you reach step 4!
  4. The mixture is sufficiently thick when it is able to coat your spoon / whisk / whatever you are using for your stirring.
  5. Remove from heat and cool.
  6. Cover the curd with cling wrap and place the cling wrap over the top of the lemon curd so that a skin does not form. You may want to leave it out to cool in the open first as it can be really quite hot.
  7. Pop it into the fridge and refridgerate! And that’s it :))

Lemon Curd

It turned out to be really simple but I had to be really really patient with my lemon curd as there was much more moisture than there should have been (more lemon juice than expected, I suppose) and I had to take some extra time to boil off the excess moisture.  Just popped it into the refridgerator and can’t wait to see how it will turn out :) Got a little too excited squeezing the lemon juice so now my right hand hurts HAHAHA I’m such a loser sometimes

Now I have to work really hard to keep this a secret and not post this on instagram HAHAHAHA

After this, MANGO CURDDDDD

Leave a Reply

